Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

Ferrin, Dumsa Win MCLA Awards

May 21, 2012    12740 Views

BALTIMORE, May 21, 2012 BYU attackman Ted Ferrin and Grand Valley State attackman Jack Dumsa have been named inaugural recipients of the US Lacrosse Godekeraw MCLA Player of the Year Award in the Men’s Collegiate Lacrosse Association (MCLA), as announced jointly by US Lacrosse and the MCLA.

Ferrin was a first-team MCLA Division I All-American in 2012 and led the 2011 champion Cougars to the semifinals of this year’s tournament with 132 points on 81 goals and 51 assists. He has a cumulative GPA of 3.58 and completed this third year as a BYU team captain. Ferrin helped coordinate several team service projects, including Habitat for Humanity, cancer awareness, Sub for Santa, rest home visits, youth lacrosse service projects, and Parents Night Out, where players take care of children with autism, giving the parents an evening to themselves.

Dumsa led Grand Valley State to the MCLA Division II national championship game in 2012 and was a first-team MCLA All-American. He is the school’s all-time leading scorer (391 points) after finishing this season with 105 points. A three-year captain, Dumsa has graduated with a cumulative GPA 3.28 and a degree in occupational therapy. He’ll continue his studies in that field at the University of Pittsburgh. He has worked for Holland Home Christian Living Services for the past two years, and additional community service endeavors include: assisting students with a mobility disability get to and from classes, helping disabled children at a local elementary school, and volunteering for the Senior Meals on Wheels Program in Grand Rapids, Mich.

The US Lacrosse Godekeraw MCLA Player of the Year Award is a joint recognition program of US Lacrosse and the MCLA. It honors two MCLA players (Division I and II) who best meet the combined criteria of: performance on the field, academic performance, character and sportsmanship. Nominees are evaluated regularly throughout the season by the MCLA Awards Committee before finalists are voted on by the US Lacrosse Godekeraw MCLA Player of the Year Award Committee, which consists of award founder Larry Feldman and representatives of both organizations.

The US Lacrosse Godekeraw MCLA Player of the Year Award is presented annually at the MCLA National Championships, won this year by Colorado State (Division I) and St. Thomas (Division II).

About US Lacrosse
US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body of men’s and women’s lacrosse and the home of the nation’s fastest-growing sport. US Lacrosse has more than 400,000 members in 64 regional chapters across the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse provides programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the game. Bookmark, like and follow US Lacrosse at and @uslacrosse, respectively.



blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog