Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

Tewaaraton Award Nominees Announced

April 25, 2012    13327 Views

WASHINGTON, April 25, 2012 The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2012 Tewaaraton Award men’s and women’s nominees, presented by Panama Jack. Twenty five women and 25 men were selected as nominees, from which the 12th annual Tewaaraton Award 10 finalists (five women, five men) will be selected and honored May 31, 2012, at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The men’s award nominees include players from 20 schools, including 2011 winner Steele Stanwick (Virginia) and representatives from 18 of the current top 20 teams in the April 23 USILA Men’s Division I Poll. Salisbury University’s Sam Bradman the lone Division III representative. Four schools had two players nominated, including Johns Hopkins (Pierce Bassett, Tucker Durkin), Princeton (Tyler Fiorito, Tom Schreiber), Massachusetts (Anthony Biscardi, Will Manny) and Virginia (Colin Briggs, Stanwick). Men’s nominees are as follows:

Pierce Bassett, Goalie - Johns Hopkins University

Peter Baum, Midfield - Colgate University

Jesse Bernhardt, Long Stick Midfield - University of Maryland

Anthony Biscardi, Midfield - University of Massachusetts

Sam Bradman, Midfield - Salisbury University

Colin Briggs, Midfield - University of Virginia

CJ Costabile, Long Stick Midfield - Duke University

Kevin Cunningham, Attack - Villanova University

Tucker Durkin, Defense - Johns Hopkins

Billy Eisenreich, Attack - Bucknell University

Tyler Fiorito, Goalie - Princeton University

Marcus Holman, Attack/Midfield - University of North Carolina

Austin Kaut, Goalie - Penn State University

John Kemp, Goalie - University of Notre Dame

Roy Lang, Midfield - Cornell University

Will Manny, Attack - University of Massachusetts

Kiel Matisz, Midfield - Robert Morris University

Mark Matthews, Attack - University of Denver

Brian Megill, Defense - Syracuse University

Mason Poli, Defense - Bryant University

Scott Ratliff, LSM - Loyola University

Michael Sawyer, Attack - Loyola University

Tom Schreiber, Midfield - Princeton University

Steele Stanwick, Attack - University of Virginia

Garrett Thul, Attack - United States Military Academy


The women’s award nominees include players from 17 schools, including 2011 winner Shannon Smith (Northwestern) and representatives from 16 of the current top 20 teams in the April 24 IWLCA Division I Poll. Maryland (Kari Ellen Johnson, Iliana Sanza, Katie Schwarzmann) and North Carolina (Kara Cannizzaro, Becky Lynch, Laura Zimmerman) led all schools with three nominees each. Schwarzmann and Smith have been nominated for a second straight year.


Kristin Igoe, Midfield - Boston College

Jessi Steinberg, Attack - Cornell University

Sarah Plumb, Midfield - Dartmouth College

Emma Hamm, Attack - Duke University

Kim Wenger, Midfield - Duke University

Sophia Thomas, Midfield - Georgetown University

Marlee Paton, Midfield - Loyola University

Shannon Smith, Midfield - Northwestern University

Taylor Thorton, Defense - Northwestern University

Alayna Markwordt, Attack - Ohio State University

Dana Cahill, Goalie - Penn State University

Alyssa Murray, Attack - Syracuse University

Michelle Tumolo, Attack - Syracuse University

Mary Teeters, Goalie - Towson University

Kitty Cullen, Attack - University of Florida

Brittany Dashiell, Midfield - University of Florida

Karri Ellen Johnson, Attack - University of Maryland

Iliana Sanza, Defense - University of Maryland

Katie Schwarzmann, Midfield - University of Maryland

Kara Cannizzaro, Midfield - University of North Carolina

Becky Lynch, Attack - University of North Carolina

Laura Zimmerman, Midfield - University of North Carolina

Maggie Tamasitis, Attack - University of Notre Dame

Josie Owen, Attack - University of Virginia

Ally Carey, Midfield - Vanderbilt University


Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced May 10 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men’s and women’s watch lists, were announced Feb. 15 with additions made March 20 and April 3 and were ultimately comprised of 82 men’s players and 57 women’s players.


"We congratulate these 50 elite student-athletes on their remarkable accomplishments thus far this season," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "With the help of our selection committees, we look forward to announcing this year’s finalists next month." The selection committees are comprised of 12 men’s and ten women’s current and former coaches.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award and to purchase tickets to the ceremony, please visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at and

About The Tewaaraton Foundation
First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Iroquois descent. In 2011, US Lacrosse entered into a multi-year partnership agreement with The University Club of Washington to sponsor the annual Tewaaraton Award and Annual Native American High School Player of the Year Scholarship.


blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog