Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

2012 Convention Scholarships Awarded

December 7, 2011    13136 Views

BALTIMORE, Dec. 7, 2012 – US Lacrosse has awarded 51 women’s game umpires and men’s game referees scholarships to attend the US Lacrosse National Convention, presented by Champion, in Philadelphia, Pa., Jan. 13-15, 2012. Criteria for scholarship selection included: previous convention attendance, ability to help develop lacrosse locally and geography. The 51 recipients reside in 23 states.

"Going to the US Lacrosse National Convention is vital for me," said Karla Andre, a women’s game umpire. "Being so far away from the ‘hub’ of lacrosse limits my on field experiences with national umpires and experience in high level games. Sitting in sessions with district level and national level umpires allows me to ask and hear important questions and scenarios. My attendance at the convention will benefit my peers because I get to learn the new rules and new rule interpretations firsthand and then share what I’ve learned through statewide training when I return home."

"Attending the US Lacrosse National Convention is an essential tool for anyone involved in training officials at the youth and high school level," said Michael Zeldman, a men’s game official. "The insights and techniques learned at the ‘Train the Trainer’ session among others are critical components for improving the style and methods used to train new officials. I've enjoyed my past opportunities to attend convention and understand the tremendous value of being able to bring back the knowledge and experience gained from networking and sharing ideas with others." 

For more information about the 2012 US Lacrosse National Convention, presented by Champion, and a list of speakers, visit:

For more information about other officials’ education opportunities, visit:

The 2012 US Lacrosse National Convention scholarship recipients:
Karla Andre – Brentwood, Tenn.
Rick Bedford – Hillsdale, N.J.
Shawna Block – Marietta, Ga.
Julie Boardman – Irving, Texas
George Brucia – North Merrick, N.Y.
Cathy Callahan – West Hartford, Conn.
Sean Connally – Santa Ana, Calif.
Joe Cronin – Sandy, Utah
Kari Crowe – Campton, N.H.
Dale Davis – Endicott, N.Y.
Edward Feaster – Ann Arbor, Mich.
Michael Forte – Cranston, R.I.
Sheri Gimigliano – Pittsburgh, Pa.
Jack Gormley – Denver, Colo.
Donald Huber – Tigard, Ore.
Robert Imhoff – Midvale, Utah
Jessica Ivory – Troy, Wis.
Nancy Kelly – Carmel, N.Y.
John Kenny – Charleston, S.C.
Tyrone Koen – Sacramento, Calif.
Brad Lapinski – Birmingham, Ala.
Lynda Lareau – Worcester, Mass.
Marcella Latino – San Diego, Calif.
Geri Ellen Matyiko – Portland, Ore.
Dave McIntyre – Boise, Idaho
E.J. McQuade III – San Diego, Calif.
Chris Menzel – Pearland, Texas
Joe Meyer – Woodbine, Iowa
Daniel Miller – Decatur, Texas
Eric Moore – Richmond, Va.
Chris Niblock – Prospect, Ky.
Jerry Padgett – Lynchburg ,Va.
Roger Pattee – Livonia, Mich.
Willie Prince – Alabaster, Ala.
Laura Rogal – Scottsdale, Ariz.
Eric Sanders – Freeport, N.Y
Mike Scanlan – Shelton, Conn.
Eliza Scott – Doylestown, Pa.
Holly Souza – St. Paul, Minn.
Bill Straus – Bloomington, Minn.
Jordan Supraner – Lake Mary, Fla.
Chris Thuman – Scottsdale, Ariz.
Derek Washburn – Vestal, N.Y.
Catie Welsh – Carrboro, N.C.
John Willis – Fort Worth, Texas
Julie Wittman – Kansas City, Mo.
Daron Yates – Andover, Minn.
Jason Yates – Henderson, Nev.
Sherry Zabel – New Providence, N.J.
Michael Zeldman – Montville, N.J.
Richard Zinn Jr. – Franklin Lakes, N.J.

About US Lacrosse
US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. US Lacrosse has nearly 375,000 members in 63 regional chapters around the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse strives to provide programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the game. To learn more about US Lacrosse, please visit


blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog