Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

2011 Tewaaraton Ceremony on TV

June 9, 2011    12920 Views

Washington, D.C. – The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award ceremony, presented by US Lacrosse and hosted by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance, will be aired on CBS Television on Saturday, June 11 from 12:30 to 1:00 p.m. The broadcast will be a recap of the June 2nd ceremony at the Warner Theatre, including the presentation of the two Native American high school scholarship winners, the first annual Tewaaraton Legend Award, and the Tewaaraton Award. The broadcast will feature a sit down interview with Jim Brown, recipient of the Tewaaraton Legend Award.

US Lacrosse recently announced that it has established a multi-year partnership agreement with The University Club of Washington to sponsor the annual Tewaaraton Award and Native American High School Player of the Year Scholarship. US Lacrosse joins the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders in its endorsement of the Tewaaraton Award, which honors the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for extraordinary achievements on the field.

For more information, visit

About US Lacrosse
US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. US Lacrosse is the parent organization of the U.S. men’s and women’s national teams program. US Lacrosse has nearly 350,000 members in 63 regional chapters around the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse strives to provide programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the game. To learn more about US Lacrosse, please visit

About The Tewaaraton Award
The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 with the inaugural presentation talking place at The University Club of Washington DC in June of 2001. Honoring the Native American heritage, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American history. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. Today, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field.

About The University Club of the City of Washington, D.C.
Established in 1904 during the tenure of William Howard Taft, the Club's first President and later the President of the United States, the membership is a diverse mix of professional, business and government leaders. The Club's mission is to provide members and their families: congenial social gatherings, good fellowship, excellent dining, guest rooms, athletics, a rich variety of cultural, international and educational programs activities, and other services to enhance health, wellness, intellectual growth and fitness within the Club's superbly maintained and expanded historic Clubhouse.

About Greater Washington Sports Alliance
Established in 2003, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance (GWSA) is a regional non-profit sports commission created to foster economic development and civic pride through the power of sports. The Sports Alliance’s mission encompasses the attraction of sporting events to the region, the promotion of the regional professional, collegiate and amateur franchises, the support of youth investment organizations and the branding of Washington, D.C. as a world class sports destination. For more information please visit

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog