Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

Taylor Highlights WCLA Award Winners

May 5, 2011    12586 Views

Scottsdale, Arizona - Jacklyn Taylor of UC-Davis Club was named the Player of the Year in the US Lacrosse Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA) Division I for 2011. Taylor was among the players honored during an awards banquet on Wednesday at the Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains.

Taylor, a midfielder, earned the honor after scoring 54 points this season. The Aggies enter the US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships as the No. 3 seed and will play Minnesota in a first-round game. She was one of four individuals from UC-Davis to earn major awards. Jessica Luckhardt was named the WCLA Coach of the Year, Jessica Dresser was named the Midfielder of the Year and Nicole Crayton was named the Defender of the Year.

Three other individuals earned major awards. Kate Mulligan, of top-seeded Colorado, was named the Goalie of the Year; Gracie Binder, of No. 4 seed Santa Clara, was named the Attacker of the Year and Lisa Riondet of Georgia was named the Rookie of the Year.

The All-America teams were also honored at the ceremony and UC-Davis Club and Santa Clara led the way with four first-team selections each.

The complete All-America teams follow:

DI First Team All-American

Kate Mulligan — Senior — University of Colorado
Renee Eligio — Senior — Santa Clara University

Ashley Antoon-Algieri — Senior — University of California - Santa Barbara
Gracie Binder  —  Senior   — Santa Clara University
Brittini Peck — Junior — University of Florida
Stacy Patch —  Senior — California Polytechnic State University – San Luis Obispo
Maegan Cruse — Junior — University of California - Santa Barbara

Jacklyn Taylor  — Senior — University of California - Davis
Jessica Dresser — Junior — University of California - Davis
Clayton Crum — Junior — University of Texas
Laura Maffuci — Junior — University of California - Davis
Stuart Anderson — Senior — University of Colorado
Kara Cashen — Junior — Lindenwood University
Maggie Burke — Sophomore — Santa Clara University

Nicole Crayton — Senior — University of California - Davis
Margaret Hendricks — Senior — University of Colorado
Michele Manis — Junior — University of Georgia
Anna Berne — Senior  — BYU
Laura Gonzalez — Senior — Santa Clara University

DI Second Team All-American 

Marissa Higgins — Senior — University of Florida
Jenny Centner — Junior — University of California - Santa Barbara

Allie Simpson Junior University of California – Los Angeles
Sinead Brady Senior Boston College
Lauren Giraldi Junior University of Maryland
Alison Russell Senior University of Pittsburgh
Sarah Tanabe Sophomore University of Colorado

Darby Dudley Junior Michigan State
Lindsay Lewis Senior University of Minnesota
Rachel Lee Senior University of California - Davis
Jenna Hildebrand Sophomore University of Florida
Britt Boehm Senior University of Michigan
Katie Mitchell Sophomore University of California - Santa Barbara
Molly Carstensen Sophomore University of Colorado

Lauren Lapp Sophomore University of Florida
Emilia Norlin Sophomore University of California - Santa Barbara
Kate Griffin Senior Lindenwood University
Sarah Llewelyn Sophomore University of Texas
Ally Mast Senior Colorado State University


blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog