Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

WCLA Championship Selections Announced

April 26, 2011    13002 Views

BALTIMORE – The University of Colorado and Westminster College received the top seeds for the Division I and Division II brackets, respectively, for the 2011 US Lacrosse Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA) National Championships, presented by Harrow Sports. Scheduled for May 4-7, the WCLA National Championships take place in Scottsdale, Ariz., at the Scottsdale Sports Complex. Formerly the Women’s Division Intercollegiate Associates, the WCLA National Championships feature the top 24 women’s collegiate club teams in the country. 

The Division I tournament hosts the top 16 teams and the Division II tournament highlights eight teams. The Division I first-round games start Wednesday, May 4 and the Division II first-round games start Thursday, May 5. Both championship games are scheduled for Saturday, May 7. 

Colorado earned the No. 1 seed in the Division I flight after going 15-1 this season. The Buffaloes started the season strong, going 5-0 at the Santa Barbara Shootout and never slowed up. Colorado’s only loss was a 9-6 setback to Florida Club on March 26 at the A-Town Throwdown in Georgia. Colorado had previously beaten Florida and bounced back from its only defeat by winning seven straight games to close the season. This is Colorado’s seventh straight berth to the national championship tournament and third straight final four appearance. Colorado was the runner-up in 2009.

Florida Club earned the No. 2 seed after a 17-2 season that included a 12-9 victory over Georgia in the Southeastern Women’s Lacrosse League championship game this past weekend. UC Davis Club earned the No. 3 seed despite falling 10-9 to Santa Clara in the Western Women’s Lacrosse League championship game. The Aggies were ranked No. 1 nationally before the tournament and are now 14-2 for the season. Santa Clara rode its WWLL championship to the No. 4 seed and is now 12-2 for the season. Rounding out the top five seeds is Lindenwood, which is playing at the club level for the final time this year in preparation for a move to the NCAA Division II level.

This is just the second year that the WCLA national championship features a Division II flight and Westminster is making its first appearance in the tournament. Westminster went 15-3 this season with all three losses coming to Division I teams. Chapman, another first-time national tournament participant, earned the No. 2 seed after a 15-0 season. SMU is making its second straight trip to the national tournament and earned the No. 3 seed after an 11-3 season that included a pair of losses to Division I national qualifier Texas and a loss to Westminster.

Last year’s national champions were Colorado State in Division I and Cal Berkeley Club in Division II. CSU, which won the national championship last year as a No. 11 seed, is seeded sixth this season. It will meet Pitt in the opening round. Cal Berkeley moved up to Division I this season and was not selected for the tournament field.

Selections for the field were extremely competitive. The selection committee used a variety of criteria to base their decisions including: overall record, record versus ranked teams, won-loss versus common opponents, record versus WCLA teams, quality wins/quality losses, upsets, head-to-head results, conference playoff performance, final conference standings, record for last five (5) games, and more.

The US Lacrosse WCLA structure consists of approximately 200 college programs from across the country. Further information about the WCLA is available online at  

Click here for further information about the championship tournament.

Harrow Sports is the official event sponsor and retailer for the 2011 US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships.

Division I First Round Games (Wednesday, May 4)
No. 1 Colorado vs. No. 16 Midland
No. 2 Florida Club vs. No. 15 Minnesota
No. 3 UC Davis Club vs. No. 14 Washington
No. 4 Santa Clara vs. No. 13 Boston College Club
No. 5 Lindenwood vs. No. 12 Cal Poly
No. 6 Colorado State vs. No. 11 Pittsburgh
No. 7 UC Santa Barbara vs. No. 10 Texas
No. 8 Michigan vs. No. 9 UCLA

Division II First Round Games (Thursday, May 5)
No. 1 Westminster vs. No. 8 Oakland
No. 2 Chapman vs. No. 7 St. Benedicts
No. 3 Southern Methodist vs. No. 6 Utah
No. 4 Towson Club vs. No. 5 Minnesota-Duluth
Note: Change announced in original D-II field

About US Lacrosse
US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. US Lacrosse is the parent organization of the U.S. men’s and women’s national teams program. US Lacrosse has nearly 350,000 members in 63 regional chapters around the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse strives to provide programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the game. To learn more about US Lacrosse, please visit

About Harrow Sports
Harrow Sports is a recognized leader in high performance composite technology for sports equipment. Since its inception, Harrow has led the industry in game changing composites in squash, lacrosse, ice hockey and field hockey. For more information please visit  



blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog