Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

2010-11 Women's National Team Named

August 3, 2010    12795 Views

BALTIMORE – US Lacrosse announced the roster for the 2010-11 U.S. senior women’s national lacrosse team after three days of tryouts at University of Maryland, Baltimore County, July 30 - Aug. 1. The 36 players selected by the coaching staff will train for the 2013 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Cup.

US Lacrosse’s selection committee with head coach Ricky Fried and his staff named the following to the U.S. senior women’s national team:

Name   (Hometown - College)
Sarah Albrecht* (Braintree, MA - Northwestern '06)
Amy Altig  (Millersville, MD - James Madison '05)
Casey Ancarrow (Jarrettsville, MD - James Madison '13)
Kelly Berger   (Columbia, MD - James Madison '07)
Sarah Bullard* (Needham, MA - Duke '11)
Jillian Byers   (Northport, NY - Notre Dame '09)
Caroline Cryer*  (Denver, CO - Duke '09)
Katrina Dowd   (Yorktown Heights, NY - Northwestern '10)
Amber Falcone*  (Westminster, MD - North Carolina '09)
Katy Fitzgerald   (North Andover, MA - North Carolina '11)
Corrine Gandolfi  (Smithtown, NY - Hofstra '10)
Kim Griffin   (Jarrettsville, MD - James Madison '09)
Kathleen Hertsch   (Westminster, MD - Hofstra '11)
Megan Huether*   (Lutherville, MD - Duke '06)
Kristin Igoe   (Framingham, MA - Boston College '11)
Ashby Kaestner   (Trappe, MD - Georgetown '10)
Alyssa Kildare   (Massapequa Park, NY - Johns Hopkins '12)
Kristen Kjellman*   (Westwood, MA - Northwestern '07)
Erica LaGrow*   (Skanateales, NY - North Carolina '08)
Kendall McBrearty   (Alexandria, VA - Virginia '08)
Caitlyn McFadden*  (Phoenix, MD - Maryland '10)
Lindsey Munday*   (Chicago, IL - Northwestern '06)
Colleen Olsen   (Avon, CT - Dartmouth '10)
Brittany Poist   (Hampstead, MD - Maryland '11)
Mallory Poole  (Corning, NY - C. W. Post '08)
Katie Rowan*  (Delmar, NY - Syracuse '09)
Jennifer Russell  (Andover, MA - North Carolina '10)
Lauren Schmidt   (Bay Shore, NY - Stanford '11)
Katie Schwarzmann   (Sykesville, MD - Maryland '13)
Lauren Schwarzmann (Sykesville, MD - Johns Hopkins '08)
Danielle Spencer  (Rochester, NY - Northwestern '10)
Michelle Tumolo   (Mullica Hill, NJ - Syracuse '13)
Acacia Walker*   (Severna Park, MD - Maryland '05)
Paris Waterman  (Newark, NJ - Brown '11)
Devon Wills*  (Denver, CO - Dartmouth '06)
Laura Zimmerman  (Syracuse, NY - North Carolina '12)

* Member of 2009 World Cup Team

"This was the most competitive tryout I've ever been a part of," said head Team USA head coach, Ricky Fried. "We think that this is the best team of 36 players for the style and tempo we want to play. This group will comprise the core of the team which will defend the gold medal in 2013."

"Watching tryouts is a truly inspiring experience," said Nathaniel Badder, director of the U.S. national lacrosse teams program. "Our heartfelt thanks go out to all who participated. These players were so impressive and really made the job of the selectors difficult. They all played so hard on the field and carried themselves so well off of it. It's going to be exciting to watch them come together in the months and years ahead."

In addition to quadrennial world cup play, the U.S. team program competes on an annual basis with tryouts held each summer. Among the annual activities are participation in the US Lacrosse Champion Challenge each January, the US Lacrosse Stars & Stripes Weekend each October and a series of U.S. National Team Clinics at various locations around the country to teach youth and high school players about the sport and the national team program.

Ricky Fried, an assistant coach on the 2009 U.S. world championship team and the head coach at Georgetown University, is the current head coach for the U.S. women's team. Assistant coaches are Amy Bokker (Stanford), Liz Robertshaw (Boston U.) and Jess Wilk (four-time Team USA goalie), Carol Cantele (Gettysburg), Michele DeJuliis (Princeton) and Bowen Holden (Boston College).

The location and dates of the 2013 FIL World Championship have not yet been announced by the Federation of International Lacrosse. In 2009, Team USA won the gold at the quadrennial event, beating Australia 8-7 in Prague, Czech Republic. The U.S. women’s senior team has won either gold or silver in all seven world championships conducted since 1986.

US Lacrosse is the national governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse, and is the parent organization of the U.S. men’s and women’s national lacrosse teams.

About US Lacrosse
US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. US Lacrosse has more than 300,000 members in 63 regional chapters around the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse strives to provide programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the game.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog