Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

U.S. Men to Face MLL All-Stars

June 29, 2010    12609 Views

BALTIMORE — The U.S. men’s national team will face the Major League Lacrosse All-Stars in the 2010 MLL All-Star Game on Thursday, July 8, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. EST at Harvard Stadium in Boston, Mass. The game will be broadcast live on ESPN2, with Joe Beninati and Quint Kessenich calling the action.

This will be Team USA’s final contest before they head to the 2010 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Championships, July 15-24, in Manchester, England. The game takes place during Team USA’s training camp, which will be held from July 5-10 at Bryant University in Smithfield, R.I.

"We’re incredibly excited to be hosting the U.S. men’s national team at the Major League Lacrosse All-Star Game," said MLL Commissioner David Gross. "This is special treat for all lacrosse fans and we’re sure they’ll want to experience this incredible event."

This is the second time that the MLL has adopted this format of competing against Team USA instead of two MLL All-Star teams for the All-Star Game. In 2006, the U.S. men’s national team defeated the MLL All-Stars 18-10 at Boston University’s Nickerson Field. In addition to the game, players from both teams will participate in the Bud Light Skills Competition, which includes the fastest shot and freestyle competition.

"US Lacrosse is excited to be involved with the 2010 MLL All-Star Game," said Nathaniel Badder, US Lacrosse director of national teams. "This competitive event, against some of the best players in the world will serve as excellent preparation for our U.S. men’s national team as it gets ready for the FIL World Championships."

In the 2006 game, U.S. men’s national team midfielder Kevin Cassese scored two goals, including a two-pointer, and added an assist to earn Bud Light MVP honors. Cassese is one of five players from the ‘06 U.S. men’s national team roster named to Team USA for the 2010 FIL World Championships. The other 2006 roster repeats are: Ryan Boyle, Ryan Powell, Matt Striebel and Kyle Sweeney.

With the exception of Parker McKee, Ned Crotty and Chris Schiller, every member of the 2010 U.S. Men’s National Team has been named an MLL All-Star. A pair of Team USA alternates, Kevin Leveille and Matt Abbott, will be suiting up on the MLL All-Stars side.

U.S. men’s national team head coach Mike Pressler stated, "Playing the MLL All-Stars at the conclusion of training camp will be an outstanding opportunity for Team USA to prove our readiness prior to our departure for Manchester. We would like to thank David Gross and his staff for supporting this tremendous event for all lacrosse fans to see."

The United States has won eight gold medals at the World Lacrosse Championships, most recently in 2002. In 2006, Team USA received the silver as the runner up to Canada.

Tickets to the MLL All-Star Game are on sale now, beginning at $20. Individual and group tickets can be purchased by calling 617-746-9933 or online at

US Lacrosse is the national governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse, and is the parent organization of the U.S. men’s and women’s national lacrosse teams. Warrior Lacrosse is the official exclusive equipment and apparel supplier to the U.S. men's national teams program.

About US Lacrosse
US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. US Lacrosse has more than 300,000 members in 63 regional chapters around the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse strives to provide programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the game. To learn more about US Lacrosse, please visit

About Major League Lacrosse
Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, commenced play in June of 2001. The MLL is comprised of six teams located in Boston, Chesapeake, Chicago, Denver, Long Island and Toronto. The 2010 season will culminate with the MLL Championship Weekend presented by Warrior, which will take place on Saturday and Sunday, August 21 and 22 at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Maryland.

Major League Lacrosse was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. For more information, please visit the Official League website at

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog