Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

Officials’ Convention Scholarships Announced

October 17, 2013    13862 Views
Officials Scholarship US Lacrosse National Convention 2014 Announced

BALTIMORE — US Lacrosse today announced the 52 men’s and women’s game lacrosse officials that will receive scholarship money to attend the US Lacrosse National Convention, presented by Champion, Jan. 10-12, 2014, at the Pennsylvania Convention Center.

US Lacrosse awarded $10,000 to the men’s and women’s game officials to divide amongst scholarship winners to help cover costs of attending the convention. Out of 52 recipients, 24 are first-time attendees of the convention.

The scholarship recipients represent 28 states and are as follows:

Men’s Game Officials
Damon H. Boyce – Oakland, Tenn.
Mark Brine – Hudson, Wis.
Joe Cronin – Sandy, Utah
Kevin Curley – East Rochester, N.Y.
Kole Dea – Phoenix, Ariz.
James Fancher – Richmond, Texas
Bou Gazley – Rochester, Minn.
Doug Gettman – Dublin, Ohio
Moe Haag – Louisville, Ky.
Andrew Hersch – Crandall, Ind.
Donald Huber – Tigard, Ore.
Timothy Hurlbut – Las Vegas, Nev.
John Kenny – Charleston, S.C.
Neil Kramer – Los Angeles, Calif.
Michael Lonchar – Moneta, Va.
David Malmquist – Colorado Springs, Colo.
Jason Neely – Lakewood, Colo.
John Newmiller – Sandy, Utah
Jack Parsons – Pleasanton, Calif.
Brian Platz – Salem, Ore.
Jeremy Redmon – Woodstock, Ga.
Ed Springgate – Seattle, Wash.
Donovan Stamps – Frisco, Texas
James Strohecker – Atherton, Calif.
Michael Tonno – Macungie, Pa.
Chris Wenzler – Rogers, Ark.
Sonny Zieglar – Wingate, N.C.

Women’s Game Officials
Heidi Alderfer – Norristown, Pa.
Robert Argento – Staten Island, N.Y.
Cassie Axtell – Grand Rapids, Mich.
Tanisha Bernard-Tucker – Oakland, Calif.
Carlos Boyd – Kansas City, Mo.
Bethany Buzzell – Durham, N.C.
Jordana & David Cohen (1 scholarship) – Briar Cliff Manor, N.Y.
Carl Davis – Geneva, N.Y.
LaTia Few – Baltimore, Md.
Ginger Girard – Windsor Locks, Ct.
Nicole Golden – Melbourne, Fla.
Nathan Hendel – Cameron Park, Calif.
Shelly L. Kempton – Cazenovia, N.Y.
Elizabeth King – Frisco, Texas
Erica Massenburg – Philadelphia, Pa.
Ruth Onyekwelu – Philadelphia, Pa.
Alicia Oswald – San Diego, Calif.
Carleen Pfluger – Madison, N.H.
Laura Rogal – Scottsdale, Ariz.
Dijone Scurry – Raleigh, N.C.
Zoe Smith – Denver, Colo.
Kathleen Stockman – Wilmington, Mass.
Christina Thebeau – Columbia, Mo.
Mia Weygand – King of Prussia, Pa.

“The convention is the premier educational event for officials, and it marks the beginning of the season as they prepare to take the field,” said Lucia Perfetti Clark, US Lacrosse officials education and training manager. “Not only is it the best place for education, it is how we come together are a community. I could not be more excited for these 52 officials, especially the 24 first-time attendees, to experience being part of the US Lacrosse family.”

The speaker schedule for the 2014 US Lacrosse National Convention, presented by Champion, can be found here: . For more information and to register, visit:

About US Lacrosse
US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body of men’s and women’s lacrosse and the home of the nation’s fastest-growing sport. US Lacrosse has more than 410,000 members in 64 regional chapters across the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse provides programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the game. Bookmark, like and follow US Lacrosse at, and @uslacrosse, respectively.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog