Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

Nine First-Time Entrants Highlight FIL World Championship Field

December 19, 2013    17447 Views

FIL Lacrosse

BALTIMORE — Nine first-time entrants will highlight the 38-team field expected for the 2014 Federation of International Lacrosse Men’s World Championship, which will be hosted by US Lacrosse at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Denver from July 10-19, 2014.

The 38 teams will be a record for the FIL World Championship, surpassing the mark of 29 set for the 2010 championship in Manchester, England. The last time the U.S. hosted the world championship, in 1998 in Baltimore, there were only 11 nations competing.

The nations expected to compete for the first time are Belgium, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Israel, Russia, Thailand, Turkey and Uganda.

The United States is the defending world champion, having defeated Canada 12-10 in the 2010 championship. Australia defeated Japan 16-9 in the third place game.

Full-event ticket packages to the world championship, which include admission to more than 125 games over 10 days, along with access to the International Village and Vendor Village, are now on sale at In addition to the world championship, registration is open for the boys’ youth and men’s masters’ World Festivals that will be held in conjunction with the event at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park. More than 100 teams have already signed up for the World Festivals. Visit for more information about age groups and registering a team.

Teams have until the end of the year to commit to participate, but the following nations have indicated their intention to participate to the FIL:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bermuda
  • Canada
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Czech Republic
  • England
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • Ireland
  • Iroquois Nationals
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Latvia
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Scotland
  • Slovakia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • United States
  • Wales

World Championship History

1967Toronto, Canada4United StatesAustralia
1974Melbourne, Australia4United StatesAustralia
1978Manchester, England 4CanadaUnited States
1982Baltimore4United StatesAustralia
1986Toronto, Canada4United StatesCanada
1990Perth, Australia5United StatesCanada
1994Manchester, England 6United StatesAustralia
1998Baltimore11United StatesCanada
2002Perth, Australia15United StatesCanada
2006London, Canada21CanadaUnited States
2010Manchester, England 29United StatesCanada
2014 World Championships

Grab your seats today to be a part of this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Ticket packages are now available, and make a perfect gift for the lacrosse fan in your family.

Purchase Tickets

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog