US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

COC Names James “Ace” Adams Award Winners

January 29, 2014    14699 Views

James 'Ace' Adams Award Winners

BALTIMORE — The US Lacrosse Men’s Collegiate Officials Committee named the James “Ace” Adams Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2013 lacrosse season. They are presented to the college or university in each of the 11 officiating districts whose coaches, players, and fans exhibit the best sportsmanship throughout the season.

The award exemplifies the tradition of sportsmanship in lacrosse by Ace Adams, the coach of the United States Military Academy (Army), University of Pennsylvania and University of Virginia in the 1960s to the 1990s. Adams won not only by being good a coach, but also by playing fair. He won several championships and the USILA Coach of the Year award in 1961.

The awards, voted on by each districts’ officials, are as follows:

District 1 - Eastern Connecticut State University, Head Coach Justin Axel
District 2 - Keuka College, Head Coach Jason Paige
District 3 - Chestnut Hill College, Head Coach Brian Dougherty
District 4 - Washington and Lee University, Head Coach Gene McCabe
District 5 - Mercer University, Head Coach Kyle Hannan
District 6 - Ohio State University, Head Coach Nick Meyers
District 7 - Saint John's University, Head Coach Derek Daehn
District 8 - Centenary (La.) College, Head Coach Jeremy Lichtig
District 9 - University of New Mexico, Head Coach Andrew Golston
District 10 - San Diego State University, Head Coach Charlie Jackson
District 11 - College of Idaho, Head Coach Matt Gier

The winners of the 2013 James “Ace” Adams Sportsmanship Award were presented this honor at the 2014 US Lacrosse National Convention, presented by Champion, at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia, Jan. 11.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog