Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

Teams Named for WCLA National Championships | US Lacrosse

April 23, 2013    13242 Views

BALTIMORE, April 23, 2013 – Three-time national champion Colorado State earned the top seed in the Division I bracket of the 2013 US Lacrosse Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA) National Championships, presented by Harrow Sports, while James Madison University Club earned the No. 1 seed in the Division II bracket.

The event, featuring the top women’s collegiate club teams in the country, takes place May 8-11 at the El Pomar Sports Complex in Colorado Springs, Colo. The Division I bracket includes 16 teams while the Division II bracket has eight teams. Division I and II seednigs are listed below.

Colorado State, which has won the Division I national title three of the last five years, has a perfect 18-0 record. The Rams beat the No. 2 seed, Brigham Young University (BYU) 9-6 to win the Rocky Mountain Women’s Lacrosse League championship, on April 20. This is the 10th consecutive year that the Rams have received a bid to the US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships, and the second consecutive year they’ve been the No. 1 seed.

In the Division II bracket, tournament newcomer James Madison University Club earned the top seed. The Dukes finished the season with a 14-3 record during the season and won the Mid Atlantic Women’s Lacrosse League (MAWLL) Division II title, with an 18-11 win over Duke University Club, the Division II championships No. 3 seed, on April 21.

Selections for the field are based on a variety of criteria, including: overall record, record versus ranked teams, won-loss versus common opponents, record versus WCLA teams, quality wins/quality losses, upsets, head-to-head results, conference playoff performance, final conference standings, record for last five (5) games, and more.

The US Lacrosse WCLA structure consists of approximately 200 college programs from across the country. More information about the 2013 US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships can be found at Further information about the WCLA is available online at

Harrow Sports is the official event sponsor and retailer for the 2013 US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships.

The complete field:

Division I
No. 1 Colorado State University
No. 2 Brigham Young University
No. 3 University of Georgia
No. 4 Cal Poly – San Luis Opispo
No. 5 University of Texas at Austin
No. 6 University of Virginia
No. 7 University of Florida
No. 8 University of Pittsburgh
No. 9 University of Southern California
No. 10 Santa Clara University
No. 11 University of California Santa Barbara
No. 12 University of Michigan A-Team
No. 13 University of Maryland
No. 14 University of Minnesota
No. 15 University of Oregon
No. 16 Northeastern University

Division II
No. 1 James Madison University
No. 2 University of Utah
No. 3 Duke University
No. 4 University of North Carolina
No. 5 Loyola University Maryland
No. 6 Oakland University
No. 7 University of Minnesoate Duluth
No. 8 Santa Barbara City College

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog