Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

USL Accepting Nominations for 2013 Carroll Award | US Lacrosse

April 19, 2013    13022 Views

BALTIMORE, April 19, 2013 — US Lacrosse is now accepting nominations for the 2013 Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award through Aug. 1, 2013. A committee comprised of Carroll friends and family selects the recipient who is then recognized at the 2014 US Lacrosse National Convention, presented by Champion, Jan. 10-12 in Philadelphia, Pa.

??The Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award was established in 1994 and annually recognizes one boys' high school coach nationwide. The award measures the success of a coach not in victories but in the care and guidance he gives to the balanced development of the young men who play the game.

??"Every year the award is given to a high school coach that has focused their attention not on their individual achievements as a coach, but rather the overall development of young men both on and off the lacrosse field," said Brian Carroll, the youngest son of the late Gerry Carroll. "From year to year the award goes to an individual who by themselves stands out for this achievement, but at the same time is representing the hundreds and thousands of coaches that help their players every day. It's a great honor to know that our dad's memory is honored by the presentation of the award and it is an even bigger honor to know that there are coaches out there that have the same passion and dedication to their players, teams, families and the sport of lacrosse."

??For more information about or to nominate a coach for the Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award, click here. ??

Past Recipients
2012 – Mike Jolly, De La Salle Collegiate High School, Warren, Mich.
2011 – Greg Barnard, Midlothian High School, Midlothian, Va.
2010 – Toby Plank, Evergreen High School, Evergreen, Colo.
2009 – Andrew Bolger, Pope John Paul II High School, Boca Raton, Fla.
2008 – Steve Tripp, Glen Cove High School, N.J.
2007 – John Piper, North Carroll High School, Hampstead, Md.
2006 – Chris Kenneally, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
2005 – John Baker Jr., Chesapeake High School, Baltimore, Md.
2004 – David White, Salmon River Central School, Fort Covington, N.Y.
2003 – Tom Acee, Henninger High School, Syracuse, N.Y.
2002 – Larry Wink, Tully Senior High School, Tully, N.Y.
2001 – Larry Briggs, Amherst Regional High School, Amherst, Mass.
2000 – Ted Wolford, Upper Arlington High School, Columbus, Ohio
1999 – John Sothoron, St. Mary’s Ryken High School, Leonardtown, Md.
1998 – John Linehan, Lower Merion High School, Ardmore, Pa.
1997 – Doug Tarring, St. Anne’s-Belfield School, Charlottesville, Va.
1996 – Tom Hall, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
1995 – Cliff Gillespie, St. Paul’s School, Concord, N.H.
1994 – Mike Messere, West Genesee High School, Camillus, N.Y.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog