Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

Tewaaraton Award Nominees Announced

April 25, 2014    12719 Views

Tewaaraton Award Nominees Announced

Greg Wall & Rich Barnes

WASHINGTON – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2014 Tewaaraton Award men’s and women’s nominees, presented by Panama Jack. Twenty-seven women and 28 men were selected as nominees, from which the 14th annual Tewaaraton Award 10 finalists (five women, five men) will be selected and honored May 29, 2014, in Washington, D.C.

The men’s award nominees include players from 18 schools, including 2013 finalists Tom Schreiber (Princeton) and Lyle Thompson (Albany), as well as representatives from 14 of the top 20 teams in the April 21 USILA Coaches Poll. Eight schools had two or more players nominated, with Duke and Loyola each receiving three. Two men’s nominees were added in this round – Deemer Class and Myles Jones, both sophomore midfielders from Duke.

Men’s nominees are as follows:

Niko Amato, Maryland - Sr., G
Wesley Berg, Denver - Jr., A
Connor Buczek, Cornell - Jr., M
Mike Chanenchuk, Maryland - Sr., M
Deemer Class, Duke - Soph., M
Mark Cockerton, Virginia - Sr., A
Joe Fletcher, Loyola - Sr., D
John Glesener, Army - Jr., A
Myles Jones, Duke - Soph., M
Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame - Soph., A
Jesse King, Ohio State - Jr., M
John LoCascio, Villanova - Sr., LSM/D
Kevin Massa, Bryant - Jr., F/O
Kieran McArdle, St. John's - Sr., A
Ben McIntosh, Drexel - Sr., M
Scott McWilliams, Virginia - Sr., D
Jeremy Noble, Denver - Sr., M
Nikko Pontrello, Loyola - Jr., A
Kevin Rice, Syracuse - Jr., A
Joey Sankey, North Carolina - Jr., A
Tom Schreiber, Princeton - Sr., M
Randy Staats, Syracuse - Jr., A/M
Wells Stanwick, Hopkins - Jr., A
Lyle Thompson, Albany - Jr., A
Miles Thompson, Albany - Sr., A
Gunnar Waldt, Bryant - Soph., G
Justin Ward, Loyola - Sr., A
Jordan Wolf, Duke - Sr., A

The women’s award nominees include players from 17 schools, including 2013 finalist Alyssa Murray (Syracuse) and representatives from 15 of the top 20 teams in the April 21 IWLCA Coaches Poll. Seven schools had two or more players nominated, with Maryland earning an NCAA best four nominations.

Women’s nominees are as follows:

Bridget Bianco, Northwestern - Jr., G
Nikki Boltja, Louisville - Sr., A
Frankie Caridi, Stony Brook - Sr., G
Jackie Cifarelli, Ohio State - Jr., A
Taylor Cummings, Maryland - Soph., M
Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Sr., A
Megan Douty, Maryland - Jr., D
Lucy Ferguson, Penn - Jr., G
Abbey Friend, North Carolina - Sr., A
Shannon Gilroy, Florida - Jr., A
Brooke Griffin, Maryland - Jr., A
Hannah Hook, Denver - Sr., G
Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern - Sr., A
Meg Markham, Penn - Jr., D
Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Jr., A
Kelly McPartland, Maryland - Jr., M
Kaylin Morissette, Louisville - Soph., M
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Sr., A
Marlee Paton, Loyola - Sr., A/M
Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Jr., M
Sloane Serpe, North Carolina - Sr., D
Jaclyn Sileo, LIU Post - Sr., A
Margaret Smith, Notre Dame - Sr., M/D
Covie Stanwick, Boston College - Jr., A
Courtney Swan, Virginia - Jr., A
Kayla Treanor, Syracuse - Soph., A
Taylor Virden, Duke - Sr., D

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced May 8 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men’s and women’s watch lists were announced Feb. 27, with additions made March 20 and April 10, and were ultimately comprised of 66 men’s players and 58 women’s players. The selection committees are comprised of 11 men’s and 11 women’s current and former coaches.

“We congratulate these elite student-athletes on their remarkable accomplishments thus far this season,” said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “With the help of our selection committees, we look forward to announcing this year’s finalists next month.”

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, please visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at and


About the Tewaaraton Foundation

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent.

Tewaaraton Foundation Home

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog