Grand Opening: Sept. 10-11 Learn More
US Lacrosse
Athlete Development   \   The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

WCLA & MCLA Player of the Year Watchlists | US Lacrosse

April 5, 2013    13413 Views

BALTIMORE, April 5, 2013 — On behalf of the Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA) and the Men’s Collegiate Lacrosse Association (MCLA) organizations, US Lacrosse today announced the 2013 Amtahcha Award and Godekeraw Award women’s and men’s watch lists, respectively. The lists include the top players across both divisions of collegiate club lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2013 player of the year awards.

Both a Division I and Division II player from the WCLA will be named Amtahcha Award winners and both divisions with the MCLA will name Godekeraw Award winners at their respective championships in May. The 2013 WCLA National Championship, presented by Harrow, is being held in Colorado Springs, Colo., May 8-11. The 2013 MCLA National Championship Tournaments are being held in Greenville, S.C., May 13-18.

2013 Amtahcha Award women’s watch list
Division I
Hayley Bernstein, Colorado State, M
Maggie Burke, Santa Clara, M
Maddie Garcia, Colorado State, A
Jenna Hildebrand, Florida, M
Sarah Langlie, Colorado State, D
Sarah Llewelyn, Texas, D
Kristen Lund, Brigham Young, A
Katie Mitchell, UC Santa Barbara, M
Emila Norlin, UC Santa Barbara, D
Julianne Patterson, Michigan, M
Emily Seidel, Georgia, G
Brooke Smith, Brigham Young, A
Sara Tanabe, Colorado, A

Division II
Jackie Gamper, Southern Methodist, D
Michelle Jeffries, Boise State
Kaitlyn Leininger, Minnesota-Duluth, A
Megan McCollough, Santa Barbara City, M
Desiree Messina, Oakland, M
Samantha Miceli, Oakland, D
Margaret Patterson, Southern Methodist, M
Jaycee Slack, Gonzaga, M
Erika Torres, Nevada Reno, M

"We are excited to announce the 2013 Amtahcha Award women's watch list," said David Holdsworth, WCLA chair. "The athletes on this list are all viable candidates for this prestigious honor. We are looking forward to naming the Division I and Division II winners at the WCLA National Championship in Colorado.”

2013 Godekeraw Award men’s watch list
Division I
Kevin Canavan, Connecticut, M
Daniel Cohen, California, A
Trent Dean, Georgia, A
Luke Donovan, Florida State, M
Peter Doyle, Stanford, M
Jack Farr, Stanford, A
Austin Fisher, Colorado State, A
Matt Giannelli, Virginia Tech, A
Patrick Matheson, Brigham Young, M
Tyler Novotny, Pittsburgh, A
Spence Price, Texas, A
Nolan Pura, Stanford, LSM
Jordan Richtsmeier, Davenport, A
Ben Smood, Oregon, D
Mickell Walker, Brigham Young, M

Division II
Jake Arthur, Westminster, M
Steven Danseglio, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, M
Tyler Farmer, Grand Valley State, M
Peter Flock, North Dakota State, A
Steve Johnson, St. Johns, D
Mike King, St. Johns, G
Danny Kransberger, Grand Valley State, G
Michael Mann, Sam Houston State, A
Dominic Scalzo, Palm Beach Atlantic, A
Ben Vasko, St. Thomas, D

“We are proud to recognize these student athletes’ exemplary and exceptional achievements both on and off the field,” said Tony Scazzero, MCLA president. “They deserve our recognition for their commitment, skill, and passion for the great sport of lacrosse. Without the significant partnerships with US Lacrosse for our Godekeraw player of the year awards and Nike for our players of the month awards, these outstanding young men’s accomplishments might go unrewarded.”

Clayton Crum (Texas) was the 2012 Amtahcha Award WCLA Division I award winner and Beth Ann Jancuska (Towson) was the Division II recipient. Ted Ferrin (Brigham Young) was the 2012 Godekeraw Award MCLA Division I winner and Jack Dumsa (Grand Valley State) was the Division II recipient.

For more information about the Amtahcha and Godekeraw Awards, visit

For more information about the WCLA, visit For more information about the MCLA, visit

For coverage of the WCLA and MCLA season and championships, visit

About US Lacrosse
US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body of men’s and women’s lacrosse and the home of the nation’s fastest-growing sport. US Lacrosse has more than 400,000 members in 64 regional chapters across the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse provides programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the sport. Bookmark, like and follow US Lacrosse at, and @uslacrosse, respectively.

About the MCLA
The Men’s Collegiate Lacrosse Association (MCLA) is a national organization of non-NCAA, college lacrosse programs. The MCLA currently operates with 200+ teams in two divisions, across ten conferences. The purpose of the MCLA is to grow the men’s college game by providing a high quality, national collegiate lacrosse experience.

# # #

blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe to the
US Lacrosse Blog