US Lacrosse
The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

Gerald Carroll Coaching Award

US Lacrosse will accept nominations beginning in spring 2014 for the 2014 Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award, established in memory of Gerry Carroll. Coach Carroll spent a good part of his brief 46 years playing and coaching lacrosse. Greater than his love for the sport, however, was his commitment to give back to the young, and the lifetime of lessons he took from the game.

The Carroll Award, given annually to one boys' high school coach nationwide, measures the success of a coach not in victories but in the care and guidance given to the balanced development of young men who play the game.

Nominees must demonstrate support and care for players in their growth and development as young adults and leaders on and off the playing field. Nominees must be members in good standing of US Lacrosse.

US Lacrosse will accept nominations April 15 through August 1, 2014. All nominations should be sent to US Lacrosse and should be submitted with the following:

  • Name, school and contact information of nominee
  • Nominee's lacrosse resume
  • Two letters of recommendations from individuals other than family members

The recipient is chosen by a committee comprised of Carroll friends and family. The award is presented annually at the US Lacrosse National Convention.

Bob Hartranft of Farmingdale (N.Y.) High School was the 2013 winner.

Nominations should be submitted to:

US Lacrosse
c/o Brian McGettigan
Men’s Game Manager
113 West University Parkway
Baltimore, MD 21210
Fax: 410-366-6735

Past Recipients

1994 – Mike Messere, West Genesee High School, Camillus, N.Y.
1995 – Cliff Gillespie, St. Paul’s School, Concord, N.H.
1996 – Tom Hall, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
1997 – Doug Tarring, St. Anne’s-Belfield School, Charlottesville, Va.
1998 – John Linehan, Lower Merion High School, Ardmore, Pa.
1999 – John Sothoron, St. Mary’s Ryken High School, Leonardtown, Md.
2000 – Ted Wolford, Upper Arlington High School, Columbus, Ohio
2001 – Larry Briggs, Amherst Regional High School, Amherst, Mass.
2002 – Larry Wink, Tully Senior High School, Tully, N.Y.
2003 – Tom Acee, Henninger High School, Syracuse, N.Y.
2004 – David White, Salmon River Central School, Fort Covington, N.Y.
2005 – John Baker Jr., Chesapeake High School, Baltimore, Md.
2006 – Chris Kenneally, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
2007 – John Piper, North Carroll High School, Hampstead, Md.
2008 – Steve Tripp, Glen Cove High School, N.Y.
2009 – Andrew Bolger, Pope John Paul II High School, Boca Raton, Fla.
2010 – Toby Plank, Evergreen High School, Evergreen, Colo.
2011 – Greg Barnard, Midlothian High School, Midlothian, Va.
2012 – Mike Jolly, De La Salle Collegiate High School, Warren, Mich.
2013 - Bob Hartranft, Farmingdale High School, Farmingdale, N.Y.