#LaxCon returns to Baltimore, Jan. 22-24! Registration starts at $90. Register
US Lacrosse
The Sport   \   Safety   \   Team USA   \   Chapters   \   Shop   \   Donate My Account

World Championship History

Year Location Champion Runner-Up Score
1967 Toronto, Ontario United States Australia N/A
1974 Melbourne, Australia United States 3-way tie 20-14
1978 Stockport, England Canada United States 17-16 (OT)
1982 Baltimore, Md. United States Australia 22-14
1986 Toronto, Ontario United States Canada 18-9
1990 Perth, Australia United States Canada 19-15
1994 Manchester, England United States Australia 21-7
1998 Baltimore, Md. United States Canada 15-14 (OT)
2002 Perth, Australia United States Canada 18-15
2006 London, Ontario Canada United States 15-10
2010 Manchester, England United States Canada 12-10
2014 Denver, Colo. Canada United States 8-5
2018 Manchester, England TBD TBD TBD

The first world championship was as a four-team invitational tournament in 1967, where Mt. Washington (Md.) Lacrosse Club represented the United States and won the title. Seven years later, the U.S. fielded an all-star team to compete in a similar international invitational tournament in Australia. It was here that the concept of holding a world championship tournament every four years was born. The International Lacrosse Federation (ILF) was formed to govern men’s lacrosse on the international level, and sanctioned World Championship events from 1974-2006 until merging with the IFWLA in 2008 to form the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL). The first sanctioned FIL World Championship was held in 2010 in Manchester, England.

The U.S. has captured nine world championships, including seven of the last nine, and finished second in the other three tournaments. The U.S. claimed its most recent title in 2010 by defeating Canada 12-10 in the gold medal game game in England, with midfielder Paul Rabil being named Most Outstanding Player. After an unbeaten run through pool play, Team USA fell to Canada 8-5 in the final of the 2014 FIL World Championship, hosted by US Lacrosse in Denver, Colo., and will enter the 2018 tournament as reigning silver medalists for just the third time. Team USA holds a 59-4 all-time record in World Championship competition

US Lacrosse coordinates all aspects of the U.S. Men’s National Team Program.