Now in its 16th year, the US Lacrosse Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA) National Championship has found a new home for 2016 in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, with games beginning Wednesday at the BB&T Soccer Park.

The WCLA is comprised of over 200 college club teams from coast-to-coast that compete under the US Lacrosse umbrella. From these, the most deserving Division I and Division II club teams qualify for the season-ending national championships, conducted by US Lacrosse each spring.

The 16-team Division I tournament begins on Wednesday, May 4, while the 12-team Division II tournament starts Thursday, May 5. The event concludes with championship games for both divisions on Saturday afternoon. Live streaming of the two championship games will be provided by

Harrow Sports, Nationwide Insurance and Sweat X are the official event partners for the 2016 US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships. Fans are welcome to attend all games. Admission at BB&T Soccer Park is free.

The University of Georgia earned the No. 1 seed in the Division I championship following a 16-2 regular season. The Bulldogs were champions of the Southeastern Women's Lacrosse League and are making their fourth straight and 10th overall appearance in the WCLA Championship. Georgia plays No. 16 seed Washington in Wednesday’s opening game.

“I think the competition is so strong that any of the 16 teams at nationals this year has a chance to win it all, no matter what the seed,” said Georgia coach Adam Weinstein. “That’s pretty much been the story this year as you have a lot of teams ranked 10 through 20 that have a top-10 win at some point this season.”

Twelve of the 16 teams in this year’s Division I field are returnees from last year’s championship. The field also includes the past three national champions in No. 2 seed Colorado State (2013 champion), No. 3 seed Michigan (2015) and No. 4 seed Pittsburgh (2014). Michigan and No. 9 seed Cal Poly have been the most active national tournament participants with each team making its 14th appearance this year. No. 12 seed Santa Clara has the longest current streak for appearances, making its 9th straight showing.

In the 12-team Division II bracket, University of Denver earned the top seed and brings a 10-2 overall record into the championship. The Pioneers are making their third straight and fourth overall appearance in the championship. University of Utah, last year’s Division II national runner-up, is the number two seed, with Loyola University Maryland seeded third.

Five of the top six seeds in this year’s Division II field were also participants in last year’s championship: Denver, Utah, Loyola, No. 4 Oakland, and No. 6 St. Thomas. Oakland is the only team to have appeared in all seven Division II championships.

The Division I and Division II formats are slightly different due to the variance in the number of teams. The Division I format calls for a traditional single-elimination bracket to determine the champion. Following each team’s first loss, it moves into the consolation bracket to determine its final placement. In Division II, the teams are arranged into four pods of three teams each. A round-robin within each pod determines the qualifier that advances into the semifinal round. Single-elimination is utilized in the semifinals and final.

WCLA Division I First Round Games – Wednesday, May 4
11 am – No. 1 Georgia (16-2) vs. No. 16 Washington (11-4) 
11 am – No. 8 Delaware Club (9-3) vs. No. 9 Cal Poly (10-4) 
11 am – No. 5 Colorado Club (11-3) vs. No. 12 Santa Clara (9-5) 
11 am – No. 4 Pittsburgh (16-4) vs. No. 13 James Madison Club (10-3) 
2 pm – No. 3 Michigan Club (12-3) vs. No. 14 Boston College Club (5-0) 
2 pm – No. 6 UCLA (12-4) vs. No. 11 Minnesota (9-5) 
2 pm – No. 7 Virginia Tech Club (12-2) vs. No. 10 Texas (12-6) 
2 pm – No. 2 Colorado State (15-2) vs. No. 15 UC Santa Barbara (11-6) 

WCLA Division II Pool Play Groupings – Thursday, May 5
Pod A:
No. 1 Denver Club (10-2), No. 8 Iowa State (9-3), No. 12 Montana (6-3) 
Pod B:
No. 4 Oakland (14-3), No. 5 Grand Canyon (11-0), No. 9 Utah State (6-5) 
Pod C:
No. 3 Loyola Club (11-2), No. 6 St. Thomas (11-3), No. 10 Cal State San Marcos (13-2) 
Pod D:
No. 2 Utah (11-2), No. 7 Salisbury Club (10-0), No. 11 Bethel Club (9-3), an official website of US Lacrosse, will have complete coverage of the championships – including live blogs, stories and scores, updated game schedules, brackets and photo galleries.