Clark Bell, past president and board member of the Michigan Chapter, has been selected as this year’s winner of the US Lacrosse Homer R. Schwartz Chapter Leadership Award. Bell was nominated for the award by Chip Carlson, who succeeded Bell as president of the Michigan Chapter. 

Created in 2014 to recognize a US Lacrosse chapter leader who embodies the qualities of passion and dedication that Homer provided as a longtime US Lacrosse chapter volunteer, Bell becomes the fourth recipient of the award.

Bell will be publicly recognized and receive the award in January at the 2018 US Lacrosse Convention in Baltimore

Bell is a founding member of the US Lacrosse Michigan Chapter and has been actively engaged in growing the game throughout the state for over three decades. In addition to many years of service as the chapter president, he was also co-founder and the first president of the Michigan Lacrosse Officials Association, as well as a leader in the development of the Michigan Youth Lacrosse Association.

Bell continues to serve as a men’s game official, working games from the youth through collegiate level, and he remains engaged with the Michigan Chapter in his role as past president.

As part of the nomination, Carlson wrote, “Clark constantly seeks ways to bridge the large state we have to make certain that all voices are heard and considered. His ability to bring people together with the common goal of building the lacrosse community in the state of Michigan is incredible.”

Through the years, Bell has spearheaded the training of both coaches and officials through US Lacrosse education programs, and he has been responsible for facilitating the Michigan Chapter’s annual 7 vs. 7 fall tournament fundraiser, which recently celebrated its 23rd year. 

"Clark is a true pioneer and a relentless advocate for the sport of lacrosse," said Steve Kirr, director of membership & regional development at US Lacrosse. "As chapter president, Clark worked tirelessly in his role, advancing player development along with coaches and officials education and training. He embodies everything that US Lacrosse stands for as it pertains to promoting best practices and national standards."

Bell, a native of Birmingham, Michigan who played club lacrosse at the University of Michigan in the 1970’s, was selected as the award winner from among a strong candidate pool that included 18 nominations from 17 different chapters. The other nominees were:

Mark Mozier, Chesapeake Chapter
Bob Shillinglaw, Delaware Chapter
Kevin McDonald, Eastern Massachusetts Chapter
Michael Morse, Eastern Massachusetts Chapter
Eric Rudolph, Georgia Chapter
Alan McLiverty, Greater Rochester Chapter
Kirk Dodson, Hawaii Chapter
Mike Nelson, Long Island Chapter
Jim Dock, Maine Chapter
Peter O’Donnell, New Jersey North Chapter
Dave Cerny, North Coast Ohio Chapter
Holly Reilly, Orange County Chapter
Bobby Laudig, Oregon Chapter
Scott Growney, Philadelphia Chapter
Elaine Knobloch, Potomac Chapter
Craig Brown, Western Massachusetts Chapter
Jody Spencer, Wisconsin Chapter 

Homer Schwartz served as president of the Potomac Chapter of US Lacrosse for 14 years and passed away in 2012. Due in large measure to his enthusiastic leadership, selfless service and contagious love for the game, Potomac’s membership grew from 1,200 to 10,000 during his tenure.