Cobie Cree and Yanenowi Logan were elected by the Tewaaraton Foundation as the 2020 recipients of the Tewaaraton Native American Scholarships, presented by US Lacrosse. These recipients will be recognized along with the next year’s recipients at the 2021 Tewaaraton Award annual ceremony as this year’s event was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Cobie Cree, who resides in Hogansburg, N.Y., is a citizen of the Mohawk Nation from the Akwesasne Territory, which straddles the U.S.-Canada border along the St. Lawrence River. He started playing box lacrosse at age four and says the box skills helped develop his field lacrosse game. He was twice 1st Team All-Northern and was an Academic All-Northern team selection for four years at Salmon River Central School. He also won multiple science fair awards. He was captain of his high school lacrosse team and assistant captain of the hockey team. Cree also volunteers with the Akwesasne powwow and other tribal activities. He feels that his lacrosse experiences have prepared him well for future challenges. He will attend SUNY-Potsdam this fall, where he intends to play lacrosse. 

Yanenowi Logan is a member of the Deer Clan and a citizen of the Seneca Nation, located in western New York. She is an exceptional leader, having been captain of her high school lacrosse, soccer, and basketball teams. She has been on the Dean’s List throughout her years at Lake Shore High School, was a multi-year Academic All-Northern team selection and is a member of the National Honor Society. As a volunteer and student leader on both the Cattaraugus (Seneca) and Akwesasne (Mohawk) territories, Yanenowi has strengthened her communities in many ways and is also passionate about giving back to the Earth. She will study Environment and Sustainability at Cornell University starting this fall. 

“We’re proud of our partnership with the Tewaaraton Foundation, as well as the opportunity to provide college scholarship support to Iroquois student-athletes,” said Steve Stenersen, CEO of US Lacrosse. “We hope that more high school players of Iroquois descent will aspire to this opportunity in the years to come.”

A 10-year commitment by US Lacrosse established the scholarship program, which annually recognizes two outstanding Native American high school seniors for academic achievement and lacrosse excellence. Each scholarship recipient is awarded $10,000 for education — $5,000 for each of their first and second years in college.

More information on the Tewaaraton Award and previous scholarship winners can be found at