There’s more championships coming to New England.

Massachusetts/Rhode Island captured three of the divisional titles on Sunday at the US Lacrosse Women's National Tournament in Bel Air, Maryland, capping an impressive two-day showing at the historic all-star event that features squads from all parts of the country. 

Massachusetts/Rhode Island 1 jumped to an early lead and never trailed in defeating Long Island Metro 1, 12-4, to claim the Val Walchak Trophy as the champion of the tournament’s top flight, the Onondaga Division. 

Three goals by Rebecca Gill and two apiece by Mallory Hasselbeck and Fallon Vaughn led the way for Massachusetts/Rhode Island, which scored the final four goals of the first half to build an 8-2 halftime advantage. 

Long Island Metro 1 tallied the first goal after intermission, by Megan Kielbasa, but Mass/RI answered with the next three to pull away.

Following the game, Vaughn was named as the recipient of the Heather Leigh Albert Award as the tournament’s most outstanding player. Vaughn, a junior midfielder at Concord Carlisle High School who is committed to Yale, joins a list of distinguished recipients of the Heather Leigh Albert Award that includes past U.S. World Cup team members Lauren Aumiller and Katie Chrest.

Also named as finalists for the 2019 Heather Leigh Albert Award were Rebecca Gill (Massachusetts/Rhode Island 1), Rachel Clark (Philly 1), Natalie Pansini (Philly 1), Alexis Lauricella (New Jersey South 1), Elyse Finnelle (Maryland Metro 1), Eliza Bowman (Connecticut 1), Kendall Halpern (Long Island Metro 1), and Katie DeSimone (Long Island Metro 1).

2019 Women’s National Tournament Photo Gallery

In the Seneca Division, Massachusetts/Rhode Island 2 held off a late rally from New Jersey South 1 to win 10-9. Mass/RI had pushed its lead to 10-6 on Maura O’Malley’s third goal of the game with 9:30 remaining before three goals by NJ South in the final five minutes made it close.

In the Oneida Division, Massachusetts/Rhode Island 3 built a 7-4 lead and eventually defeated Long Island Metro 3, 10-7. A team-high four goals by Nairi Enright led the way for the winners, while Madison Taylor led LI Metro with two goals.

In the Cayuga Division, Orlando defeated Maryland Metro 3, 12-5, to claim the flight championship. Four goals by Olivia Adamson and two by Eleanor Rader paced Orlando to the victory. Orlando outscored Md Metro 7-2 in the second half.

In the Mohawk Division, DC Metro 4 used a four-goal run in the second half to break a 5-5 tie and eventually defeat Philly 4 by a score of 11-6. Mia Pisani scored two of her three goals during DC Metro’s second half run. Grace Curtin also added three goals for DC Metro.

In the Tuscarora Division, Maryland Metro 2 built a 9-2 halftime lead and defeated South Florida, 16-10, in the division final. Ten different players scored for Md Metro, led by two goals apiece from Emma McLaughlin, Kara Hunt, and Cydney Lisk. 

In the Iroquois Division, Los Angeles provided the most drama of the tournament’s final day. LA tied its championship game against New Hampshire/Vermont 2 with six seconds remaining on a goal by Shelby Tilton, and tallied the winner in double-overtime for the 10-9 win. Harper Skeie was the hero who scored the overtime game-winner.

In the Haudenosaunee Division, which featured only round-robin play over two days without a championship bracket, both Ohio and Wisconsin finished with 4-0 records. By virtue of the fewest goals allowed tie-breaker, Ohio was the division winner with Wisconsin as the runner-up.

● Access all game scores via Tourney Machine 

The 2019 US Lacrosse National Tournament featured over 1,200 players from 65 regional all-star teams. The annual event, which dates back to 1933, has become one of the largest recruiting tournaments in the women's college lacrosse calendar.

The National Tournament is sponsored by Northwest Designs Ink, First Scout Productions, the HLA Foundation, and The Pearl by Guardian -- as well as US Lacrosse’s official partners, Motive Pure, Next College Student Athlete, and Nationwide.

Championship Games – Sunday, May 26
Onondaga: Massachusetts/Rhode Island 1 def. Long Island Metro 1, 12-4
Seneca: Massachusetts/Rhode Island 2 def. New Jersey South 1, 10-9
Oneida: Massachusetts/Rhode Island 3 def. Long Island Metro 3, 10-7
Tuscarora: Maryland Metro 2 def. South Florida, 16-10
Mohawk: DC Metro 4 def. Philly 4, 11-6
Cayuga: Orlando def. Maryland Metro 3, 12-5
Iroquois: Los Angeles def. New Hampshire/Vermont 2, 10-9 (ot)