Arizona's Isabella Bozzo looks for an open teammate during her team's 9-6 win over Western New York 2. Arizona went 2-0-1 during pool play on Saturday and will finish as either the No. 2 or No. 3 seed in the Iroquois Division.

STONY BROOK, N.Y. — Nearly 1,200 of the nation's top high school women's lacrosse players rang in the unofficial start of summer by competing in the historic US Lacrosse Women's National Tournament under sunny skies and warm temperatures at Stony Brook University.

The tournament dates to 1933 and has become one of the largest recruiting events in the women's college lacrosse calendar. More than 200 college coaches were on hand for Saturday's schedule, which featured 86 games by 59 teams from 27 states competing in seven divisions.

The tournament concludes on Sunday with championship games in the seven divisions, highlighted by the Onondaga Division championship game at 12 noon. The winner of the Onondaga Flight will receive the Val Walchak Trophy. Walchak initiated the idea for the high school division at the National Tournament in the early 1980s, and it has grown tremendously over the years.

Following the tournament, the Heather Leigh Albert Award will be awarded to the outstanding player in the tournament. Past recipients have included U.S. World Cup team members Lauren Aumiller and Katie Chrest among a very distinguished list of honorees.

On Saturday, the complete seeding was decided for four of the seven divisions following pool play. In the Cayuga Division, Oregon and Maine will meet for the championship after each team went 3-0 in their respective pools.

In the Mohawk Division, Philly 5 and Orange County (Calif.) will play for the championship. Orange County won the Iroquois Division last year while Philly 5 fell in the championship game of the Cayuga Division.

In the Oneida Bracket, Philly 3 will tangle with South Florida in the championship game. South Florida won the Tuscarora Division last year and won its three games on Saturday by a combined score of 53-14.

In the Tuscarora Division, Massachusetts/Rhode Island 4 will meet Virginia in the final. The Massachusetts/Rhode Island region won three divisions last year.

The Iroquois, Onondaga and Seneca Divisions still have pool play games remaining on Sunday morning. However, Nor Cal has wrapped up the No. 1 seed in the Iroquois Division and will play in the championship game. Nor Cal and Arizona each went 2-0-1 in the division, and Connecticut 4 could join them tied atop the standings if it wins its Sunday morning game, but Nor Cal has already locked up the No. 1 seed due to allowing just 12 goals in its three games.

In the Onondaga Division, there are still pool play games to be played, but Long Island Metro 1 and Long Island Metro 2 each went 3-0 in their respective pools and will meet for the title on Sunday.

Long Island Metro 1 clinched the No. 1 seed in Pool A with an 11-10 victory over Massachusetts/Rhode Island 1 in its final game on Saturday. Emma Ward ripped home a free position shot in the final seconds of the game to give her squad a perfect 3-0 record for the day.

Long Island Metro 2 also went 3-0 and completes pool play with a game against Hudson Valley (1-2) on Sunday morning.

In the Seneca Division, DC Metro 2 and New Jersey South are tied atop Pool A with 2-1 records, with New Jersey South holding the head-to-head tiebreaker with its 10-8 victory, but the pool is still wide open. In Pool B, Maryland Metro leads with a 2-0-1 record, and can clinch the division with a win in its final game.

The US Lacrosse National Tournament is sponsored by Northwest Designs Ink, First Scout Productions, HLA Foundation, The Pearl by Guardian, Gatorade, Chipotle, Peapod and Impact Canopy – as well as US Lacrosse national partners, GreenFields and Nationwide.

US Lacrosse National Tournament Schedule

Sunday, May 27

7 a.m. – Games begin
10 a.m. – Division championship games begin
12 p.m. – Onondaga Division championship game (awards to follow)


US Lacrosse National Tournament

The US Lacrosse Women's National Tournament dates to 1933 and features 59 regional all-star teams competing in seven divisions.

Event Home