US Lacrosse annually accepts nominations for the Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award, established in memory of Gerry Carroll. Coach Carroll spent a good part of his brief 46 years playing and coaching lacrosse. Greater than his love for the sport, however, was his commitment to give back to the young, and the lifetime of lessons he took from the game.

The Carroll Award, given annually to one boys' high school coach nationwide, measures the success of a coach not in victories but in the care and guidance given to the balanced development of young men who play the game.

Nomination Form

Nominees must demonstrate support and care for players in their growth and development as young adults and leaders on and off the playing field. Nominees must be members in good standing of US Lacrosse.

All nominations should be sent to US Lacrosse and should be submitted with the following:

  • Name, school and contact information of nominee
  • Nominee's lacrosse resume
  • Two letters of recommendations from individuals other than family members

The recipient is chosen by a committee comprised of Carroll friends and family. The award is presented annually at the US Lacrosse Convention.

Nominations should be submitted to:

US Lacrosse
Games Manager
2 Loveton Circle
Sparks, MD 21152
Fax: 410-366-6735
Email: [email protected]


More About Gerry Carroll

The Gerald J. Carroll, Jr. Exemplary Coaching Award is named in honor of an uncommon man: a community leader, Navy pilot and war hero, rugged individualist, devoted husband and father, loyal friend, and successful author. He died prematurely in 1993.

Throughout his own life, he developed and used his many talents with a sense of responsibility for the life of society and for the cultivation of virtue. To all who knew him, Gerry exemplified the conviction that a life is only lived well when it is lived generously in the service of others.

Gerry Carroll played lacrosse at Baltimore's Loyola High School and at Boston College, where he captained the team. He coached on both the collegiate level (U.S. Naval Academy, St. Mary's College) and the high school level (U.S. Navy Prep School, St. Mary's Ryken).

The fact that Gerry Carroll loved the game of lacrosse is no surprise since he spent a good part of his brief 46 years playing, coaching, watching and teaching young men on lacrosse fields. But greater than his love of the sport was his commitment to give back to the young ­‐ the lifetime lessons he himself took from the game.

His contribution to the game of lacrosse may be conclusively felt in the positive influence he exerted within so many of his students. Established in 1994, this award is dedicated to his memory and is established to recognize each year one coach “whose success is best measured not in victories but in the support and guidance given to the balanced growth and development of young men who play the game.”

Past Recipients

1994 – Mike Messere, West Genesee High School, Camillus, N.Y.
1995 – Cliff Gillespie, St. Paul’s School, Concord, N.H.
1996 – Tom Hall, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
1997 – Doug Tarring, St. Anne’s-Belfield School, Charlottesville, Va.
1998 – John Linehan, Lower Merion High School, Ardmore, Pa.
1999 – John Sothoron, St. Mary’s Ryken High School, Leonardtown, Md.
2000 – Ted Wolford, Upper Arlington High School, Columbus, Ohio
2001 – Larry Briggs, Amherst Regional High School, Amherst, Mass.
2002 – Larry Wink, Tully Senior High School, Tully, N.Y.
2003 – Tom Acee, Henninger High School, Syracuse, N.Y.
2004 – David White, Salmon River Central School, Fort Covington, N.Y.
2005 – John Baker Jr., Chesapeake High School, Baltimore, Md.
2006 – Chris Kenneally, Fayetteville Manlius High School, Fayetteville, N.Y.
2007 – John Piper, North Carroll High School, Hampstead, Md.
2008 – Steve Tripp, Glen Cove High School, N.Y.
2009 – Andrew Bolger, Pope John Paul II High School, Boca Raton, Fla.
2010 – Toby Plank, Evergreen High School, Evergreen, Colo.
2011 – Greg Barnard, Midlothian High School, Midlothian, Va.
2012 – Mike Jolly, De La Salle Collegiate High School, Warren, Mich.
2013 – Bob Hartranft, Farmingdale High School, Farmingdale, N.Y.
2014 – Wendell Thomas, Atholton High School, Columbia, Md.
2015 – Bob Shriver, Boys' Latin School, Baltimore, Md.
2016 – Rob Bordley, Landon School, Bethesda, Md. 
2017 – Justin Georgacakis, Glenbrook North High School, Northbrook, Ill.
2018 – (not awarded)
2019 – Neil Duffy, Norfolk Academy, Norfolk, Va.
2020 – (not awarded due to COVID-19)


We want to answer your questions.

Contact Us