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FAQ on Boundary Balls and Boundary Starts/Re-Starts.

NEW RULES WERE INTRODUCED IN 2626 FOR RESTARTING PLAY WHEN THE
BALL GOES OUT OF BOUNDS.

WHEN RESUMING PLAY FROM OUT OF BOUNDS, A PLAYER MAY:

1. COLLECT THE BALL, RUN ONTO THE FIELD AND CONTINUE PLAY WITHOUT PAUSING;
2. STEP ONTO THE FIELD, PAUSE AND SELF-START;

3. STEP ONTO THE FIELD AND WAIT FOR A WHISTLE.

NOTE: WHEN THE CLOCK IS STOPPED, THE PLAYER MUST COME ONTO THE FIELD AND WAIT
FOR A WHISTLE.

Q: May a player bringing a ball inbounds run down the sideline with the ball and
then enter the field to commence play?

A: No. The player must re-enter the field relative to the spot where the ball went out of
bounds.

Q: May a player wait for a whistle to commence play on a boundary re-start?
A: Yes. A player may wait for a whistle to commence play. A whistle start may not be
used to commence play when a player with the ball is out of bounds.

Q: May a player commence play with a pass from out bounds?

A: No. A player bringing the ball inbounds must be on the field before they may pass the
ball. If the player attempts to pass the ball from out-of-bounds, the official shall blow the
whistle and re-set the position at the spot where the ball went out of bounds. Repeated
attempts to pass the ball from out-of-bounds may result in a delay of game card.

Q: During the last 2 minutes of the half, during stop clock play, may a player
bringing a boundary ball onto the field self-start from out of bounds or self-start
after stepping onto the field?

A: No, this is a false start. Self-starts are not allowed when the clock is stopped.
Instead, the player with the ball must step onto the field and commence play with a
whistle start.

Q: May a player bringing a ball inbounds, step inbounds, come to a stop and then
self-start?

A: Yes. The player may come in within 2 meters of the boundary for a self-start, relative
to where the ball went out of bounds.
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Q: When may defenders engage a player bringing a ball inbounds?

A: The defense must give the player with the ball at least 2 meters of free space when
the player steps inbounds with the ball, or 2 meters away from the position of the on-
field self-start or whistle start.

Q: Which player is allowed to bring a boundary ball inbounds?

A: The team that last touched a boundary ball loses possession. The opponent nearest
the ball shall place the ball in her cross to commence play. The official may direct the
opponent nearest the ball to restart play.

Q: What happens when the ball goes out of bounds during the draw?

A: The draw will be retaken when the ball goes directly out of bounds from a legal draw.
When the ball goes out of bounds off a player or her crosse after the draw is taken, the
ball goes to the nearest opponent. Alternate possession is awarded when the ball is
touched by a player or players and goes out of bounds, and it cannot be determined
which team caused the ball to go out of bounds.

Q: May a player self-start when bringing the ball onto the field from out-of-bounds
within the Critical Scoring Area?

A: Yes. While self-starts are not permitted for fouls that occur in the CSA, a player
bringing the ball inbounds within CSA may self-start from out of bounds. She may also
step onto the field and self-start from a settled stance within 2-meters of the boundary
line. Or, she may step onto the field and wait for a whistle start.
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